TPAM Service Account Access Denied Error with 2019 Domain Controller

I am a domain administrator, not a TPAM administrator, but needed to run this by you all as best I could to see if anyone has had this issue or has a solution?

Our TPAM service account is receiving an Access Denied error when trying to change an account's password and this happens when pointing to one of our new Windows Server 2019 domain controllers.  We have been replacing our 2012R2 with 2019 and we are down to the last 2012R2.  This Access Denied error occurs when they point TPAM to the new DCs but it works fine with the last 2012R2.  We have verified all the individual security permissions are still there from the initial stand-up a few years ago so what changed with the new DCs?  Also, IF the service account were placed in the Administrators group, it works fine.

We have ruled out GPOs by running a test with a 2019 DC in a GPO blocked OU but the problem persists.  Also compared the Local Security Policies on one of each, 2012R2 and 2019, and didn't find anything that would cause this access issue.  Also checked UAC when we found a difference in settings but again, no luck.  

We are at the point now of having to build a new server ourselves with the 2019 ISO and not the template our VMware team used.

I suspect something changed with Windows Server 2019 as far as maybe a new permission that we need to give to the TPAM service account.  Any thoughts, ideas, or solutions would be greatly appreciated!

Parents
  • Afternoon

So far you have focused on the Directory side of things. I think you need to look at things now from the TPAM side to see if you can get any clues.

Do you have access to the TPAM to check the logs and be able to run the built in tests?  You would need the TPAM Administrator role on the /TPAM web I/F to do this. If you have access the system test would be the first one  I would go for as this check functional account authentication and connectivity.