Syncing only users without "Disabled" in description attribute

Hi!

I'm using quickconnect to sync two active directories.

In the source Active Directory, there are some users with a description that has the word 'Disabled'. I do not want to sync those users.

In workflow provisioning wizard, if I create a condition description doesn't contain Disabled it does not capture ANY users!

I'm trying to use powershell condition instead due to the issue above.

My condition for the source objects is if ($srcObj["description"] -notcontains '*Disabled*'){$srcObj}

This doesn't work as well (no users are being provisioned). I've checked that if I take this condition out of the picture, all users are captured and synced.

Any ideas? I'm new to this tool.

Thanks!

Parents
  • Hi, arjuna.

Just throwing an idea out there. Beyond the obvious version difference between what you're doing versus what John & Terrance have discussed is the fact that you're forced to resort to a scripted solution since the version of the product that you're using doesn't offer the "does not contain" operator in the interface.

Here's what I'm thinking. The Sync Service (QuickConnect) loads the set of attributes for each object into the cache that it thinks are relevant to the mapping operation. Because you're using the scripted condition, I don't think that the description attribute is actually being loaded into the cache, therefore the condition will fail for all users.

There may be some way to force the tool to load the description into the cache, but without spending a bunch of time investigating, perhaps a solution like this could work:

$srcGuid = $srcObj["objectGuid"]
    $adObject = [ADSI]("EDMS://<GUID="+([GUID]($srcGuid)).Guid+">")
    $adObject.RefreshCache("description") > $null

if (($adObject.Properties.PropertyNames -contains "description") -and ($adObject.Properties["description"].Value -notcontains "disabled")) {
      return $true
    }
    else {
      return $false
    }