Workflow Scripting Emails

So I'm very new to ARS, I need the ability to Send an email after an attribute of a user is modified. The Email address I need to send to is stored as a Virtual Attribute on the object being modified. additional to build and Write the email I would be reading additional attributes from the Modified Object, But I have ran into a road block. 

function onPostModify($Request)
{

Send-MailMessage -from 'ADMIN@MyDomain.com' -To 'ME@mydomain.com' -subject "hello world" -body "This is a test" -usessl -SmtpServer 'smtp.mydomain.com' -Port '587

}

using PowerShell attempting to send Email The way I'm familiar with doesn't appear to work. Is there a different Method/cmdlet I should be using to send an email VIA an ARS script?

• Hello,

The function that you have defined should indeed send an e-mail message (notwithstanding the missing single quote at the end of the line; guessing that's a typo in posting the message?).

Since you're using onPostModify, I'll assume that you're implementing this as a policy and not a workflow. Is the policy that implements this script applied to some kind of container (OU, Managed Unit, etc)? Are there any error messages recorded to the Active Roles event log around the time that you modified an some object affected by said policy? When you run this script manually to test, have you run it from the Active Roles server itself? E.g., is the SMTP server accepting traffic from the AR server/IP?

In this particular case, I would probably suggest that you use a workflow instead of a policy. You'll still need to have your script since the recipient is defined by an attribute of the object, but workflows are generally easier to manage.

Cheers,
    Shawn

• yes the missing single quote only exist in the re typing. I am able to successfully run that command from the ARS Server and receive mail and no errors that I could find.

The Script is part of a Workflow